top of page

Jesus' Testimony (an excerpt from "The Trial of God"


PROSECUTOR

The prosecution calls Jesus Christ to the stand.

BAILIFF

Jesus … (Stubs his toe and blasphemes) … Christ!

(JESUS enters, bedecked in his robes. He’s wearing a crown of thorns and holes are evident in his hands and feet. Blood stains appear on his robes where he had, at one time been speared.)

BAILIFF

State your name and occupation for the record.

JESUS CHRIST

Jesus Christ. Messiah.

BAILIFF

Do you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, so help you God?

JESUS CHRIST

Anything for my dad.

BAILIFF

Be seated.

PROSECUTOR

How are you today, Jesus?

JESUS CHRIST

I am well.

PROSECUTOR

That’s a first.

JESUS CHRIST

What is?

PROSECUTOR

I’ve never had somebody in your condition tell me that he was “well”.

JESUS CHRIST

In my condition?

PROSECUTOR

Well, yes. Have a look at yourself. Have you not been seriously injured, sir?

JESUS CHRIST

It may be true that I have received injuries, Ms. Mann, however, when I say that I am fine, I speak truly. For these injuries, I bear with great divine purpose, and this is more than enough to sustain my spirit.

PROSECUTOR

We’ll come back to that momentarily, Mr. Christ…

JESUS CHRIST

…Please … Jesus.

PROSECUTOR

Of course. (pause) So what happened to you, Jesus? How did you come by these “purposeful” injuries?

JESUS CHRIST

I was crucified by a group of angry Roman soldiers.

PROSECUTOR

Well, what’d they go and do that for?

JESUS CHRIST

There are many reasons, Ms. Mann.

PROSECUTOR

Were you a criminal?

JESUS CHRIST

I was not.

PROSECUTOR

Were you falsely accused of a crime?

JESUS CHRIST

In a manner of speaking, yes.

PROSECUTOR

Of what were you falsely accused?

JESUS CHRIST

Of claiming to be the messiah.

PROSECUTOR

Really. Well, aren’t you? I mean, that’s what you just told the bailiff when he asked you to state your occupation.

JESUS CHRIST

And such I am, Ms. Mann, but I made no such claim at that time and was, therefore, innocent of the charges.

PROSECUTOR

So, now I am truly puzzled, Jesus.

JESUS CHRIST

I am sorry.

PROSECUTOR

As I read this (he holds up The Bible), it seems like you could very easily have gotten off. Would you please read the highlighted portions of the text here?

JESUS CHRIST

“They bound Jesus, led him away and handed him over to Pilate. ‘Are you the king of the Jews?’ asked Pilate. ‘So you say,’ Jesus replied. The chief priests accused him of many things. So again Pilate asked him, ‘Aren't you going to answer? See how many things they are accusing you of.’ But Jesus still made no reply, and Pilate was amazed.

PROSECUTOR

Did you ever give Pilate an answer, in your defense?

JESUS CHRIST

No, I did not.

PROSECUTOR

Please continue.

JESUS CHRIST

“‘Do you want me to release to you the king of the Jews?’ asked Pilate, knowing it was out of envy that the chief priests had handed Jesus over to him. But the chief priests stirred up the crowd to have Pilate release Barabbas instead. ‘What shall I do, then, with the one you call the king of the Jews?’ Pilate asked them. ‘Crucify him!’ they shouted. ‘Why? What crime has he committed?’ asked Pilate. But they shouted all the louder, ‘Crucify him!’ Wanting to satisfy the crowd, Pilate released Barabbas to them. He had Jesus flogged, and handed him over to be crucified.”

PROSECUTOR

Is this an accurate depiction of events as they transpired with Pontius Pilate?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes it is.

PROSECUTOR

So here’s how it looks to me, Jesus. Correct me if I’m wrong. You could have escaped crucifixion in two ways. Option A: don’t equivocate. A simple, “No, I’m not the King of the Jews” would have been satisfactory for Pilate, who incidentally seemed extremely reluctant to put you to death in the first place. Option B: Why hide it? You could perform an uncontestable miracle for everybody and prove, beyond a doubt, that indeed you were the King of the Jews, the Messiah, prophesied to exist. Am I wrong, sir?

JESUS CHRIST

No. You are correct. I could have done those things.

PROSECUTOR

Hence my natural bewilderment, Jesus. Why didn’t you?

JESUS CHRIST

There was a greater reason for my death than equivocation about my identity.

PROSECUTOR

Ah, we’ve come to the great purpose now, that which you consider to be divine salve for what appear to be some very abominable wounds.

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

And what exactly is this purpose?

JESUS CHRIST

I was a sacrifice.

PROSECUTOR

Come again.

JESUS CHRIST

A sacrifice, bearing the sins of humanity upon my shoulders. Dying for your sins.

PROSECUTOR

Forgive me, Jesus, but…

JESUS CHRIST

…You are forgiven.

PROSECUTOR

Uh, thanks. Could you explain how you were made a sacrifice?

JESUS CHRIST

My father…

PROSECUTOR

…God (pointing to GOD)…?

JESUS CHRIST

…Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Let the record show that he’s identified God.

JUDGE

So recorded.

PROSECUTOR

(To JESUS CHRIST) Please continue.

JESUS CHRIST

My father sent me to earth in order that I might, as a man, offer up my life in atonement for the sins of mankind.

PROSECUTOR

All sin?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Everybody’s sins?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

For all time?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

I see. Now, there’s been some disagreement between the prosecution in this case and the defense as to whether or not your Dad flooded the world to eliminate sin and evil, but, in your case … if I gather what you’re telling me correctly … through your death and resurrection on the cross, it was intended that your sacrifice would be successful in this regard, was it not?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes, it was.

PROSECUTOR

Change of subject. If a thing exists, then your father created it, yes?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Does evil exist?

JESUS CHRIST

I’m afraid so.

PROSECUTOR

Ergo, God created it. Is this so?

(Pause)

JESUS CHRIST

So you say.

PROSECUTOR

What do you say?

JESUS CHRIST

I say that your line of questioning is very circumscribed. Yours is a finite mind.

PROSECUTOR

Jesus, would you please just answer my question?

JESUS CHRIST

Would you please repeat it?

PROSECUTOR

Did God create sin and evil?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

To what end, in your opinion?

JESUS CHRIST

To test the spirit of man, so that the goodness of a soul may shine against a backdrop of transgression.

PROSECUTOR

So, I guess we no longer need to be tested now that, through you, God has freed us all from sin. We’ve graduated and are perfect souls. Is that correct?

JESUS CHRIST

No. It’s not as simple as all of that.

PROSECUTOR

And how is that, sir?

JESUS CHRIST

To be freed from sin, one must acknowledge that my father is the ultimate truth in the universe and that I am their savior.

PROSECUTOR

And what is the consequence of failing to acknowledge you as a savior, Jesus?

JESUS CHRIST

Individuals who fail to acknowledge me are sent to Hell.

PROSECUTOR

Would you please tell the court what Hell is.

JESUS CHRIST

It is the realm of Lucifer, first to reject God.

PROSECUTOR

And what happens to people who God sends there?

JESUS CHRIST

They are doomed to eternal life without the succor of God.

PROSECUTOR

What of the suffering? Is there a Lake of Fire? Are people physically and spiritually tormented by demons?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes. There is that too.

PROSECUTOR

Is it a place for sinners?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes. For those who have rejected my father and his laws.

PROSECUTOR

On this particular day, has anyone’s soul gone to Hell?

JESUS CHRIST

I weep when I think of it, but, yes. In fact, many have lost their souls today…

PROSECUTOR

…And many tomorrow?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

So, if human souls are still being consigned to Hell, a place for sinners, sin must still exist.

JESUS CHRIST

No, Ms. Mann. I died for all sins.

PROSECUTOR

Yes, so you’ve said. Now let me clarify this. Your father sent you to earth so that sin and evil might be eliminated. Is this so, Jesus?

JESUS CHRIST

(JESUS’ coolness and collectedness are beginning to wane) I don’t know.

PROSECUTOR

Your honor, may I have the court reporter read back some of Jesus’ testimony?

JUDGE

Yes.

COURT REPORTER

Where from?

PROSECUTOR

(Pointing it out) Right here. I’ll tell you when to stop.

COURT REPORTER

Jesus: “My father sent me to earth in order that I might, as a man, offer up my life in atonement for the sins of mankind.”

Ms. Mann: “All sin?”

Jesus: “Yes.”

Ms. Mann: “Everybody’s sins?”

Jesus: “Yes.”

Ms. Mann: “For all time?”

Jesus: “Yes.”

PROSECUTOR

Stop there, please. Your words, Jesus. Are you saying that you no longer know what you knew a few minutes ago?

JESUS CHRIST

No, I’m not. Your questions have limited scope.

(JESUS is beginning to become slightly unglued.)

PROSECUTOR

So, please answer my question. To your understanding, were you sent to eliminate all sin from humanity?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Did your father tell you that this was his intention as well?

JESUS CHRIST

Why are you doing this? My father is just. He loves humanity.

PROSECUTOR

Your honor, may I have permission to treat Jesus Christ as a hostile witness?

JUDGE

Granted.

PROSECUTOR

Answer my question, please. Did God tell you that it was your task to become the sacrifice that would eliminate all sin and evil from the world?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

And yet, at least two sins still exist … two sins punishable by en eternity of torment in Hell. Disregard for your father and his laws and the failure to accept you as a personal savior. Is this what you mean when you say “all” sins … everything, but whatever convenient exceptions you might later designate.

JESUS CHRIST

Please stop it.

PROSECUTOR

Was it God’s intent, by having you die for our sins, to save us from eternal damnation?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Then why are people still going to Hell?

JESUS CHRIST

I cannot offer you an answer that will satisfy you.

PROSECUTOR

In other words, you’re saying you don’t know.

JESUS CHRIST

(To GOD) Father, is all of this really necessary?

GOD

Were the Three Stooges necessary?

JESUS CHRIST

What?

GOD

Go with the flow, Son. I haven’t had this much fun since they tried building the Tower of Babel.

JUDGE

That will do. Jesus, please direct your comments to the court only.

(Pause)

PROSECUTOR

I asked Noah this question earlier. Now I’ll ask you. If God intended to truly rid the earth of its sin and inequity, does it not follow that, all-powerful as he is, he would accomplish exactly this without error of any kind?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

Well, can we assume then, Jesus, that if people are still perishing in Hell, that sin still exists?

JESUS CHRIST

I imagine so.

PROSECUTOR

So, if sin still exists, then God did not actually eliminate it through your great sacrifice as you have suggested. Did he?

JESUS CHRIST

There must be a reason…

PROSECUTOR

And all of this unconditional love you spoke of to people on your father’s behalf has now been shown to have at least two conditions. Am I right?

JESUS CHRIST

I meant everything I said!

PROSECUTOR

Of course you did. You believed it because it was what your father told you. He told you that your sacrifice was going to be His act of love. He told you that it would eliminate sin and evil. Did he tell you the truth?

JESUS CHRIST

My father is good. How dare you question him in this manner?

PROSECUTOR

You died a horrible death, Jesus. And you knew it beforehand. You prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane for an alternative … any alternative to being crucified, didn’t you? Didn’t you?

JESUS CHRIST

Yes.

PROSECUTOR

You knew how horrible a death it would be, and you didn’t want any part of it. But he commanded it, and you went faithfully to it, didn’t you? Jesus…?

DEFENSE

Your honor, the prosecution is being a bit relentless here.

PROSECUTOR

All the witness has to do is answer my questions, your honor. He’s upsetting himself by not doing so.

JUDGE

Mr. Klein, we all knew that this trial was going to take us down some uncomfortable roads. Everyone here, including Jesus and myself, may be forgiven…

JESUS CHRIST

…You are forgiven…

JUDGE

…For being a bit on edge about all of this, but this doesn’t mean that we interfere with the prosecution when a legitimate line of questioning is being pursued. However, Ms. Mann, given the circumstances, I hope you understand that the court will be grateful to you if you do your utmost to keep emotions from becoming too negatively charged.

PROSECUTOR

Of course, your honor.

JUDGE

Please continue.

PROSECUTOR

Jesus, why did God suffer you, his only son, to endure such a bloody fate, knowing full well that you would not accomplish the things he promised you would?

JESUS CHRIST

I don’t know. He must have a reason. He must.

PROSECUTOR

Okay. Hmmm. I have to wonder at that. (Pause) Now, Jesus, a significant amount of testimony in this case has brought us to the conclusion that God, your father, is all-powerful … omnipotent. Do you support this testimony?

JESUS CHRIST

I am certain of His divinity.

PROSECUTOR

So now, under the guise of abolishing sin, God has flooded the earth, killing millions, and he sent you to the Romans, killing you. It’s unusual. For all of that death, sin itself seems not to have died at all. One wonders, Jesus … and perhaps you too now wonder … why did your father kill you?

JESUS CHRIST

(With reservations) I’m sure he had his reasons.

PROSECUTOR

I am sorry for this discomfort this has caused you. I’m convinced that your intentions were pure. If only your father’s weren’t so thickly obfuscated.

DEFENSE

Objection!

PROSECUTOR

Withdrawn. No further questions.

JUDGE

Your witness, Mr. Klein.

DEFENSE

Your honor. As you, yourself, have stated, this case is taking everyone here to very challenging places. The mood’s a bit sour right at this moment. In order to properly cross-examine this witness and to rest the heads and hearts of all present, I’d like a short recess before I continue.

JUDGE

Court will adjourn for ten minutes.

(JUDGE strikes his gavel, rises and enters his chambers. Lights rise, indicating intermission for the audience. The actors and actresses on stage remain, improving conversations and actions consistent with their characters and being in a courtroom.)

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page