top of page

One


We two are the long-severed limbs

Of an ancient starfish,

Each a millionth candle flame,

Alight like the fire that birthed it,

Which is the self-same flame.

My hatred toward you has

Only been the poison in my own wine,

And the love I have given you has been

Merely the melody to my own music.

The electron of one galaxy

Touches the electron of another

In the same instant,

Because each are drops

In the universal ocean.

The argon in my lungs

Comes from ancestors long dead,

Yet alive and well.

Each heartbeat in this room

Calls the dance for the day.

I am the Yemeni boy bleeding out from a Saudi bombing.

You are the EMT breathing life into a collapsed lung.

I am the rhino, robbed of my horn by poachers.

You are the stalwart redwood with silent secrets.

I am the light that shines from the sun.

You are the minutes that tick and tock.

I am the creator and the created.

You are alive and dead.

I am you.

You are me.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page