top of page

Leaving the Garden


The animal is the shell of matter,

And as its flesh becomes smoke thick and dense in the atmosphere,

I release the myopic fixations of my ego.

I wash the blood and filth from my hands,

And as the impurities dissolve into the water of the laver,

I release my emotional attachments to this idea or that.

I stand before the altar.

I exhale the heat and the heavens.

I inhale the moisture and the earth.

Far from happiness,

I leave Eden,

And I wander into the wilderness.

I am Dr. Faustus,

Soul sold,

Reveling in a departure that will ultimately

Result in my dismemberment.

God couldn’t be happier,

Because I shall be as Osiris in my future.

I am flesh and bone,

But I am ethereal.

My feet are held to the dirt by gravity,

But my spirit soars.

In my immediate perception,

I recognize the difference between my hands and the branches of trees,

But in the waters of my newborn psyche, there is no distinction.

I walk through the gate of tears.

Here will I know a triune mother,

Creative, received and mediated.

Here will I know the twelve tribes Israel alive in the signs.

Here will be supported by seven columns,

Remembered in each day of the week.

Here I will abominate, lament, adore and be grateful for form.

May the lithe and lively sylphs guide my ascent.

May the dazzling and unpredictable salamanders dance with me as I proceed.

May the furtive and flighty undines teach me to know my inner vision.

May the solid and stolid gnomes tether me to the discipline of my journey.

I wander toward the moon,

And I am resplendent.

Single Post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page